All posts
Sage Accounts

How to fix Sage error – Username is in use, the program cannot connect you at this time    

There are two main causes for this problem. Your entire computer or Sage 50 Accounts crashed, or a Windows update restarted your computer whilst Sage Accounts was open. If either of these things has happened to you then a way to fix it is;

  1. Click on Start–>My Computer
  2. Double click on the C: drive or which ever drive letter has your Documents and Settings folder on and double click to go into the Documents and Settingsfolder
  3. Double click to go into the All Usersfolder
  4. Double click to go into the Application Data folder
    [if you can’t see an Application Data folder and the first in the list alphabetically is Desktop then you need to click on Tools in the menu bar, the Folder Options, then click on the View tab and look in the list for “Show hidden files and folders” and select this option, then you should be able to see the Application Data folder although it might look feint or greyed out.
  5. Once in the C:Documents and SettingsAll UsersApplication Data folder scroll down and then double click on Sagefolder
  6. Double click to go into the Accountsfolder
  7. Then depending on when you first setup the account click to go into that year, in my case I have a 2011 and a 2012 folder but my data is in the 2011folder so double click to go into the year.
  8. You should then see a Company.000folder, if you have a license for multiple company accounts there may be several of these, one for each company accounts but in my instance I have a single user and single company licence so I just have one Company.000 so click to go into that
  9. Once in Company.000 click on the ACCDATAfolder
  10. Nearly there…. I am now in the following directory:
    C:Documents and SettingsAll UsersApplication DataSageAccounts2010Company.000ACCDATA
  11. There will be lots of files with a .dta file extension in here, simply scroll down to until you see QUEUE.DTA and select it.
  12. QUEUE.DTA is the file that is locking you out from Sage. If it is deleted it will be recreated when you next login and no company information will be lost at all. But rather than just deleting the file, it is better practice to rename this file to something different so that if it does break something, you can rename it back to the original and no harm is done.
  13. Right click on QUEUE.DTA and choose rename.
  14. Type in a new filename, in this case I’ll rename it to QUEUE.DTA.OLD and hit enter.
  15. Now try logging into Sage Account again and you should be all fixed.

Update May 2014
In newer versions of Sage the queue.dta file is located in a different place; C:SageAccountsACCDATA